Choosing the Right Lighting

A photo by James Bates. unsplash.com/photos/ZVYZx4c4abgWhile lighting may come as an afterthought to some it’s an essential part of every room that can add ambiance and completely change the tone of your space.

After the house renovation I was in charge of choosing the lighting for each room. At first this sounded like a simple and fun task, but after browsing hundreds of options I felt completely overwhelmed! The main retailers I chose to look at were Wayfair, Joss & Main, Pottery Barn, and a local lighting showroom. While Wayfair and Joss & Main had a huge selection I found it hard to picture how the fixtures would look in person and in my space. I had the most luck at my local showroom where I could see all of the different fixtures in person and get a good idea of the sizing and light they give. Keep in mind there is quite a price jump with local showrooms, but they do give discounts if you are working with local contractors so that really came in handy!

Now onto how I chose the lighting for each room:

-For bathrooms, take note of where the electrical wiring is and keep this in mind when choosing vanity lighting. I  spent hours scouring the web for the bathroom lighting picked out these gorgeous vanity sconces from Pottery Barn only to find out that my bathroom was only wired for a flushmount. img_4890After visiting my local lighting showroom I settled on this beautiful LED flushmount by George Kovacs. I thought this would add drama and interest to my otherwise very minimalistic bathroom. My only complaint with the fixture is that the bright LEDs with the light gray paint in my bathroom make for very unflattering lighting (for this reason I often find myself just using the other recessed light I have in there). That being said be extra careful when choosing LED lighting and if possible choose fixtures with a “warm white” or “soft white” light that will give off more flattering yellow light.

-The living room has recessed lighting (helpful in lighting up a bigger common space) but those can be quite energy consuming for everyday use. For rooms like this I suggest adding a floor lamp or side table light for times when you’d like a little bit of ambiance without lighting up the entire space.

-The kitchen was much easier! I knew I wanted clear pendant lights for the breakfast bar and found the perfect ones at the lighting showroom. I then picked out a cylindrical drum pendant to go above the dining table. I looked at chandeliers, but ultimately felt that the greys and creams of the drum pendant went better with the contemporary traditional style of our house.dining-room-pendant

-For the bedrooms: My room has a gorgeous vaulted ceiling so I chose to highlight that by choosing a dark mahogany ceiling fan. As beautiful as the fan is, it does not give off very much light so I brought in two night table lamps from TJ Maxx. My little brother’s bedroom is on the smaller side so I chose a mini cream pendant, which ended up being the perfect size and amount of light for the room! For my parent’s bedroom I chose this Pottery Barn chandelier, which ended up being a little too small for the size of the bedroom.

-The office has been quite a problem area! The room is located in the front of the house under the porch so it gets very little natural light. My dad knew he wanted a fan to keep cool while he is working from home, but unfortunately those provide a low amount of light (even with the drop down light). We added a desk lamp from Pottery Barn, but the room still lacks enough light! We’ve since been on the hunt for the perfect floor lamps to brighten up the room.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

