Solid Hardwood Flooring- What I Wish I Knew

hardwood-floorsFlooring can be one of the most prominent details in a home and can completely transform the feel of a space. Before the remodel we went with engineered bamboo flooring, so after the remodel we opted for trendy and beautiful dark stained solid hardwood floors. The process of installing and staining the solid hardwood took about a month from start to finish. To my surpriseĀ  (and disappointment) the solid hardwood has proven to be way more delicate than our previous engineered hardwood floors. We’ve only had the floors installed for a few months and they are already covered with light, visible scratches!

We’ve been trying to combat this by putting pads on all of the furniture and trimming our dog’s nails, but the scratches persist. Luckily these seems to be surface scratches, but the only way to get them to disappear would be to refinish the floors. In terms of the stain color, I wish I had realized how visible all of my white Samoyed’s hair would be in contrast with the dark stain. It seems that no matter how much I Swiffer or sweep you can still see his fine white hairs (or any dust) everywhere, a problem that was not so prominent with our light bamboo floors. So although the solid hardwood floors look beautiful when they’ve just been cleaned, next time I might opt for something a little less high maintenance.

Save

Save

Save

