Paint Finishes- What I Wish I Knew

It is hard enough to make decisions on paint color, but now we have to worry about what finish to choose as well! Before the house renovation most of the walls in our rooms and bathrooms were painted with a semigloss finish, which I was not a huge fan of. I though they made the walls look too shiny and I did not like the way they looked under artificial light. When I brought this up to my parents they would always explain that they chose semigloss because it is the most scratch resistant of the paint finishes and the easiest to clean.

After the renovation we went with Benjamin Moore flat paint finishes for the walls and their special Aura matte finish bathroom finish for each bath. I can now say from experience that although flat paint is beautiful, it definitely is more high maintenance than glossier finishes. I have included a couple of pictures to illustrate how delicate they are.

Here is damage done by masking tape that was used when the kitchen cabinets were being painted, the paint peeled off all the way to the wall texture.

This damage is from my cat jumping in and out of the window, but you can see how easily the paint gets dirty and scratches off.

So what have I learned from this? Flat finished walls definitely have their pros and cons! In the future I might considered opting for an eggshell or satin finish for walls.

Save

Save

Save

Save

